September 29, 2021

MES Book Award 2021

We are thrilled to announce that the 2021 MES Book Award winner is Dr. Sophia Stamatopoulou-Robbins, for Waste Siege: The Life of Infrastructure in Palestine (Stanford U Press). The honorable mention for this competition cycle goes to Dr. Salih Can Açiksöz, for Sacrificial Limbs: Masculinity, Disability, and Political Violence in Turkey (UC Press). Congratulations to […]

September 28, 2021

MES Distinguished Scholar Award 2021

We are thrilled to announce that the recipient of the 2021 MES Distinguished Scholar Award is Dr. Julie Peteet (University of Louisville). Please join us at our business meeting – currently scheduled for Thursday 11/11 @ 3-4EST, zoom link forthcoming – to learn more from the prize committee and to celebrate Dr. Peteet’s accomplishments.

February 27, 2019

2018 Distinguished Scholar Award: Saba Mahmood (in memoriam)

The Middle East Section’s 2018 Distinguished Scholar Award was awarded in memoriam to Dr. Saba Mahmood (1962-2018). Dr. Mahmood published groundbreaking work in feminist anthropology, religion, and secularism, particularly in Egypt. She received her Ph.D. from Stanford University in 1998 and taught at the University of California, Berkeley, since 2004. She received numerous honors and […]