MES Distinguished Scholar Award

The MES Distinguished Scholar Award

Established in 2006, the biennial MES Distinguished Scholar Award includes a cash award of $500, and recognition at the Middle East Section business meeting at the annual AAA conference. The Distinguished Scholar award is granted to an anthropologist of the Middle East whose teaching and whose contributions to the literature and the profession have substantially advanced the field. The call for nominations is typically issued in the spring and the deadline is April 15. Please see the link above or check the news announcements for more details.

Past Winners:

  • 2021: Dr. Julie Peteet (University of Louisville)
  • 2018: Dr. Saba Mahmood (UC-Berkeley, in memoriam)
  • 2016: Dr. Suad Joseph (UC-Davis)
  • 2014: Dr. Susan Slymovics (UCLA)
  • 2013: Dr. Marcia Inhorn (Yale University)
  • 2011: Dr. Dale Eickelman (Dartmouth College)
  • 2009: Dr. Brinkley Messick (Columbia University)
  • 2007: Dr. Lila Abu Lughod (New York University)