MES Student Paper Award

The MES Student Paper Award

The Middle East Section awards an annual Student Paper Award. Both undergraduate and graduate students are eligible. The winner will receive a prize of $500, plus a chance to summarize the award winning paper in AN and at the AAA meeting. Papers should be no longer than 10,000 words (not including notes and bibliography) and must have been completed no earlier than January 1 of the previous year. The paper should include a cover page with the name of the professor and class for which the paper was written and email addresses for both the student and professor. Please check the link above for submission guidelines

Past Winners:

  • 2019
    Winner: Alize Arıcan, “Behind the Scaffolding: Manipulations of Time, Power, and Delays in Tarlabaşı, Istanbul”
    Honorable Mention: Elizabeth Derderian, “Playing with the Rules: Critique and Freedom of Artistic Expression in the UAE”
  • 2018
    Winner: Noha Fikry, American University in Cairo, for “Spaces of Life, States of Death.”
  • 2017
    Winner: Guy Shalev, UNC Chapel Hill, for “Helsinki in Zion: Ethics Committees and Political Gatekeeping in Israel/Palestine.”
  • 2016
    Winner: Noga Malkin, Georgetown University, for “My Brother’s Keeper: The Double Experience of Refugee Aid Workers.”
    Honorable Mention: Kelda Jamison, University of Chicago, for “Hefty Dictionaries in Incomprehensible Tongues: Commensurating Code and Language Community in Turkey.”
  • 2015:
    Winner: Valerie Giesen, Columbia University, for “‘At Least I’ve Done Something!’ Living with Integrity: Ethical Engagements in Israel/Palestine.”
  • 2014
    Winner: Zachary Cuyler, Georgetown University, for “‘The Invasion of the Desert’: Expertise, Nationalism, and the Development of Egypt’s Western Desert, 1954-61.”
    Honorable Mention: Mathew Gagne, Toronto, for “The Many Scenes of Queer Damascus.”
  • 2013
    Winner: Jess Bier, for “The Colonizer in the Computer: The British and Israeli Influence on Palestinian Authority Cartography in the West Bank.”
  • 2012
    No Prize Awarded
  • 2011
    Winner: Elif Babül, for “‘Smells Like Translation’: Pedagogies of Human Rights and Transnational Standardization in Turkey.”
    Honorable mention: Dorothée Kellou.
  • 2010
    Winner: Rosi Greenburg, for “Cultural Boycott: A Study of (Anti-) Normalization in the Palestinian Art World.”
    Honorable Mention: Natalia K. Suit.
  • 2009
    Winner: Canay Ozden, for “The Wardrobe Republic.”
    Honorable Mention: Jeremy Walton.
  • 2008
    Winner: Suncem Kocer, for “Media Production and Transpolitics.”
    Honorable Mention: Sophia Stamatopoulou-Robbins.
  • 2007
    Winner: Ali Scotten for “Magic and Inter-Communal Relations in Sasanian Iraq: The Case of the Incantation Bowls.”
    Honorable Mention: Berna Yazici.
  • 2006
    Winner: Devon Liddell, for “Celebrity Body, Qur’anic Propriety: Beauty and Respectability in a Changing Cairo.”
  • 2005
    No Prize Awarded
  • 2004
    Winner: Lori Allen, “Suffering through a National Uprising: The Cultural Politics of Violence, Victimization and Human Rights in Palestine”
  • 2003
    No Prize Awarded
  • 2002
    No Prize Awarded
  • 2001
    Winner: Andrew M. Gardner, for “Political Ecology, Causation and the Bedouin of Saudi Arabia.”