The Middle East Section (MES) of the American Anthropological Association convenes anthropologists with an interest in the peoples, cultures and histories of the Middle East. Our membership is noteworthy for its disciplinary diversity: socio-cultural anthropologists, linguistic anthropologists, physical anthropologists and archaeologists, as well as practicing anthropologists from these subdisciplines, all participate actively in the section, and our membership thrives on the participation of members from the United States, the Middle East, and from other parts of the world. The activities of the MES, while ongoing, peak at the annual conference of the American Anthropological Association, where the MES sponsors sessions and panels proposed by its membership. The MES also awards an annual student paper prize.

The membership of the MES and anthropology as a whole are uniquely poised to contribute to establishing and promoting public understanding and policy frameworks that accommodate the historical experience and sociocultural diversity of the peoples of the Middle East.

The MES is led by an elected Board of Directors (listed below) who work and serve within the parameters described in the Middle East Section bylaws.

Board of Directors

Fida Adely
Georgetown University
fja25@georgetown.edu
President (2020-2022)

Jessica Winegar
Northwestern University
j-winegar@northwestern.edu
Past President (2020-2021)

Christine Sargent
University of Colorado Denver
christine.sargent@ucdenver.edu
Secretary (2020-2023)

Karen Rignall
University of Kentucky
karen.rignall@uky.edu
Treasurer (2019-2022)

Ian Straughn
University of California, Irvine
ian.straughn@uci.edu
Board Member, Archaeology Seat (2018-21)

Tessa Farmer
University of Virginia
trf6k@virginia.edu
At-Large Member (2020-2023)

Kim Shively
Kutztown University of Pennsylvania
shively@kutztown.edu
At-Large Member (2018-2021)

Ayse Parla
Boston University
parlaa@bu.edu
At-Large Member (2019-2022)

Sophia Stamatopoulou-Robbins
Bard College
sstamato@bard.edu
At-Large Member (2019-2022)

Alize Arıcan
University of Illinois at Chicago
aarica2@uic.edu
Student Seat (2020-2023)

Website maintained since 2014 by John Schaefer, Miami University, schaefjp@miamioh.edu