About MES

The Middle East Section (MES) of the American Anthropological Association convenes anthropologists with an interest in the peoples, cultures and histories of the Middle East.  As an organization, we are committed to supporting ethical scholarly engagements with the region and to fighting for the academic freedom of our colleagues around the world. We are also interested in supporting activist engagements that build upon anthropological approaches. Our membership represents all four fields of anthropology and also includes practicing anthropologists and interdisciplinary scholars engaged with anthropology. Our membership thrives on the participation of members from the United States, the Middle East, and from other parts of the world.  The activities of the MES, while ongoing, peak at the annual conference of the American Anthropological Association, where the MES sponsors sessions and panels proposed by its membership. The MES also awards an annual student paper prize, a biannual book award, and a distinguished scholar award. 

The membership of the MES is uniquely poised to contribute to establishing and promoting public understanding and policy frameworks that accommodate the historical experience and sociocultural diversity of the peoples of the Middle East. 

The MES is led by an elected Board of Directors (listed below) who work and serve within the parameters described in the Middle East Section bylaws.

Amahl Bishara

Tufts University

Zainab Saleh
President Elect
Haverford College

Eda Pepi
Yale University

Nadia Guessous
Colorado College

Krista Lewis
Archeology Seat
Appalachian State University

Narges Bajoghli
Member at Large

Johns Hopkins University

Nada Moumtaz
Member at Large
University of Toronto

Nell Gabiam
Member at Large

Iowa State University

Kali Rubaii
Member at Large
Purdue University

Timothy Y. Loh
Student Member