Call for Nominations for the 2015 MES Book Award

The Middle East Section is now accepting nominations for its first bi-annual book award. This award is given to an anthropological work (single- or multi-authored, but not edited volumes) that speaks to issues in a way that holds relevance beyond our subfield. Criteria may include: innovative approaches, theoretical sophistication, and topical originality.

Books submitted for the 2015 MES book award must have a publication date of 2013 or 2014.

To nominate a work, please submit a brief letter of nomination, along with one copy of the book to each of the three committee members listed below. Self-nominations and nominations directly from presses without a letter from another scholar are not accepted.

All submissions must be received by March 1, 2015.

Send any inquiries to the MES Book Award Chair, Lara Deeb [email protected]

2015 MES Book Award Committee Members:

Lara Deeb
Department of Anthropology
Scripps College
1030 Columbia Avenue #4077
Claremont CA 91711

Jane E. Goodman
Chair and Associate Professor
Department of Communication & Culture
Indiana University
800 East Third Street
Bloomington IN 47405

Brian Silverstein
School of Anthropology
University of Arizona
Tucson, AZ 85721-0030